The National Gallery

The National Gallery houses the national collection of paintings in the Western European tradition from the 13th to the 19th centuries.

The collection contains over 2,300 works including many famous works such as van Eyck’s Arnolfini Portrait, Velázquez’s Rokeby Venus, Turner’s Fighting Temeraire and Van Gogh’s Sunflowers.

All major traditions of Western European painting are represented from the artists of late medieval and Renaissance Italy to the French Impressionists.

(clockwise from top left) Vincent van Gogh, 1853–1890, Sunἀowers, 1888, Joseph Mallord William Turner, 1775–1851, The Fighting Temeraire, 1839,Diego Velázquez, 1599–1660, The Toilet of Venus ‘The Rokeby Venus’, 1647–51. All images © The National Gallery, London
  • 4th most visited museum in the world – almost 6 million visits in 2013/14 from 4.8 million visitors
  • 250,000 more visitors in 2013/14 than 2012/13
  • 61% of visitors to The National Gallery from overseas
  • 39% of visitors from the UK

Source: MHM Annual visitor research 2013-2014